kandi-burressIt’s been confirmed that the newest Real Housewife of Atlanta will be Kandi Burress.  Unlike the other housewives, Kandi is probably the only one that fans heard of prior to season 1.  If you’re not familiar with who Kandi a.k.a. Kandi Girl is, let me refresh your memory.  Remember the girl group Xscape from the 90’s, well she was one of the members.  You may remember her as the girl with the deeper voice.  She’s also written a number of songs for some of today’s top artists (Destiny’s Child, Alicia Keys, Mariah Carey Faith Evans).  It will be interesting to see how an actual star interacts with these socialites by marriage or association. 

real-housewives

Kandi is scheduled to replace Deshawn Snow, who was my favorite castmate. When I first heard that Deshawn Snow would not be returing to season 2 of The Real Housewives of Atlanta, I was a little crushed.  Not because I am a fan of hers because until season 1, I didn’t know who she was.  The fact that she went and met her husband at MSU the school that I called home for a couple of years was just a bonus.  What I really like and appreciated about Mrs. Snow was the diversity that she contributed to this cast.  Deshawn’s behavior or demeanor may be boring to some but with all that chaotic drama, we needed to see a balance and that is what Deshawn brought to the table.  Realistically speaking, all women do not experience the drama that Nene, Kim, Sheree and even Lisa went through but Deshawn gave viewers hope because while we were watching all the backstabbing unfold, we were thinking, “Black women can’t be this bad”, at least that’s what I was thinking.

