american-idol

After a very impressive Motown tribute on American Idol, the elimination show was aired last night.  I was surprised that Megan didn’t go home, but AI has a way of delivering unexpected outcomes.    Viewers did get a real treat with Ruben Studdard singing his new song, “Together” and Stevie Wonder performing a medley of his hits.  I was worried that all the sweat from Ruben’s forhead would interfere with his ability to see but he wiped the sweat away in a very low key way.  I really enjoyed his performance but I wonder, why does it seem like all AI alum gets better after leaving the show.   I didn’t hear any pitch problems and the phrasing was right on.   A low point was the Joss Stone/Smokey Robinson duet.  I really don’t know what was going on with that.  I couldn’t find clips of last nights performances but while searching Youtube, I ran across the most emotional American Idol finale in history which came from Season 3 winner Fantasia Barrino. Enjoy!

