kris-allen-american-idol-sLast night American Idol watchers and viewers were responsible for the biggest upset in entertainment history.  The term upset is usually used in sports where someone who is expected to win ends up losing so for all intended purposes I too will use the term upset.  Let’s look at this year’s final two contestants.  Kris Allen is very talented but I didn’t expect him to be in the top two, top three maybe but not the top two.  I was rooting that Allison was in the top two, but as a person who didn’t vote much during the season, I really can’t complain.  As for Adam Lambert….I joined the Glambert band wagon later on but I was impressed with him every week.  Most people were impressed with this over the top theatrical performer.  Paula even called him iconic.  It has been said that he’s the best contestant in American Idol history. 

So what happened?  I don’t know and I’m still trying to figure this out.  This morning a comment was made regarding his implied sexuality blaming that as the reason that he lost.  That thought actually crossed my mind but I was going to try to keep from saying that.  Either way, the 38 million votes from Kris Allen’s home state of Arkansas would’ve secured Kris’s win regardless.  What’s crazy is that even Kris knew that Adam should’ve won and despite everything, Adam has remained a class act.  Both of these guys are winners in my book and whatever they do in the future, I’m sure they’ll be a success.  Check out this clip of Adam displaying his classy side by singing Kris’s praises.  Now this is what I call good sportsmanship.

