itunes_tied_upYesterday I went to Target with high hopes.  Hopes of getting about 4 maybe 5 new albums.  Then I looked at the prices of these albums and thought, “This is adding up too fast”.  Every album I had in my hand was either $11.99 or $13.99 and I realized the $50.00 budget I had put myself on, was not going to be attainable if I wanted to buy 4 or 5 new albums.  As I drifted down each aisle trying to figure out what I should do, I came across an iTunes gift card. “What do people do with these” I thought.  Oh yeah, they give them as gifts.  The more I thought about it, the more it made sense.  Why couldn’t I give myself a gift……a gift of an iTunes gift card.  You see, if memory serves me correctly, every album I’ve ever seen on iTunes was either $7.99 or $9.99 so in a perfect world (and I do try to live in a perfect one) a person could possibly buy 4 to 5 albums for $50.00 or less.  Since I had not researched the albums I was interested in, I had no way of knowing if they were $9.99 or less but I was willing to find out.  So I purchased my gift to myself, an iTunes gift card. 

When I got home, I already knew which albums I wanted to buy so I got started. The first album was Chico Debarge’s new CD, Addiction…..$9.99.  Then there was Mary Mary’s newest release, The Sound……$9.99.  Now onto that new Foreign Exchange album…..$7.99 (Whoo Hoo).  Next was Raphael Saadiq’s newest album……$7.99.  Last was Maxwell’s new album…….$9.99.  So far I had purchased 5 complete albums, some bonus songs and still had about $4.00 left, so I began buying singles….3 singles to be exact. 

Recap…..For $50.00 using an iTunes gift card that I gifted to myself, I purchased 5 complete albums, 3 singles and I still have some change left on my gift card.  I will never ever in a billion years buy another album from anywhere else other than iTunes and neither should you.