goodhair

In ‘Good Hair’ Chris Rock goes where no one has ever gone before as he explores the myths associated with Black women as it relates to hair textures, weaves, relaxers and so many things we do to our hair in an effort to beautify ourselves.  Although I am excited about this documentary, I’m very curious to see how many people will actually go and see this movie and will actually get the message.  Let’s be real, people will line up to see this movie, but will it change the mindset of viewers?  While I hope it does, I can’t help but to be very realistic.  For decades, we (African Americans) have been the most critical of each other when it comes to hair and skin color so forgive me if I come across a bit skeptical.  Overall, I hope Mr. Rock’s message isn’t wasted on us as it goes right over our heads and those watching keep an open mind.

