Tags

lil-wayne-rapperIf you’re not hip to twitter, I advise that you jump on the bandwagon.   What many view as boring can be pretty exciting at times and today was no different.  After reading a very enlightening article of the bafoonery displayed in Hip Hop culture today, I checked out a link in the article that directed me to youtube where I was greeted by Lil’ Wayne and his song, “Whip it Like A Slave”.  Since I share everything with my twitter friends, I posted my thoughts on the song.  Next thing I know, I receive a message from this dude named Maestro.  Apparently, he produced the song that uses the word slave as a metaphor for how Lil’ Wayne whips up his drugs.  In his attempt to shed an alternative P.O.V. on the subject he sent me and two others a lengthy response.  Being the person that I am, I had no choice but to respond.  In this post, I’ve decided to share snippets of our back & forth dialogue.  Before reading what we sent each other, listen for yourself and form your own opinion.

Maestro wrote:

Although integration has seemingly been the goal of the Black community since the civil rights movement, would we rather dismiss the reality of slavery and act like it never happened? As the producer of the song I take full responsibility for the seemingly ignorant content, but the drug reference is far more offensive in my opinion.”

I wrote:

I completely agree that there are so many things in lyrics that are equally if not more offensive.  Was the tweet that you sent us on your mind when the song was being produced or is it just a response to what some may be view as negative feedback?

Maestro wrote:

When i sampled the whip it line it was in reference to the wrist movement when whipping something in a pot, nothing sexual. So i was expecting more backlash towards the drug reference than the racial/slavery connotation.

Maestro wrote:

Wayne’s “rodney king baby/beat it like a cop” WAS indeed sexual double entendre, and incidentally, didn’t receive any negative reaction from blacks (once enraged by the civil rights implications of the beating) or from law enforcement (who would naturally be angered by a reference to police brutality in such a public forum)

I wrote:

Not receiving backlash on a National level doesn’t mean people didn’t take offense to it, that just means enough people either haven’t heard it to make noise or the people who have heard it don’t have voices that are powerful enough to make change.

Maestro wrote:

The song was written as a dope boy’s anthem. “Whipping” paired with any metaphor is absurd to a person who doesn’t understand the drug culture; just as “401k” is absurd to a person who hustles in the streets. We are all entitled to our opinions, but I feel we should be careful when we formulate opinions on things that we don’t understand or can’t relate to.

I wrote:

Just because the song was written as a dope boys anthem and I or others may not know that lifestyle doesn’t mean that there aren’t other elements to the song that can be taken offensive.  While I am aware that artists, producers, etc. are not responsible for what the youth listens to or parents not being more involved by forbidding them from listening to it, I do think that artists should show a sense of responsibility when making songs especially when they are well aware of their core audience.  My lack of understanding of the ‘drug world’ has nothing to do with my dislike for the way the word was used in the song. In my opinion it was done in poor taste.

As you can see, everyone is entitled to their opinions but I can’t help but to feel like Maestro’s opinion is rather biased considering he produced the song.  However, I do respect him for speaking up in the manner that he did. As for who I hold responsible;  everyone.  I hold Lil’ Wayne, Maestro, Dem Franchize Boyz and the fans responsible  for this very irresponsible song.  And if this song is released on an album, I will hold the record lable responsible as well.  The reason I blame the fans is because if we sit back and do nothing each time an artist releases something offensive, the music that they release is only going to get worse.  By saying nothing, we’re sending mixed messages and making them think that this is okay, when it’s not.  

I would love to know what your thoughts are regarding this?

If you would like to read my or the producers posts in its entirety, send me an email and I’ll be more than happy to forward you the links.

 

