Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

My husband and I often discuss movie soundtracks and how they’re not what they were in the 70’s, 80’s and even 90’s.  Many of the soundtracks released now have nothing to do with the movies and they leave much to be desired by the listener because they selfishly feature who they want and neglect to feature songs that were actually in the movie.  While I often find myself wanting more when I listen to most soundtracks, there are a few that give me exactly what I need musically and they are rewarded by getting constant rotation in my CD player.

Tomorrow the soundtrack for “Tyler Perry’s, Why Did I Get Married Too” comes out.  Normally the soundtracks to Tyler Perry’s movies deliver sound bodies of music and this one does not disappoint.   In the past Tyler has reintroduced us to some of our favorite artists who may have taken a break from the limelight.  The soundtrack and prequel, “Why Did I Get Married” gave us Why by Kelly Price and a title track from former Xscape member Tamika Scott.  “Daddy’s Little Girls” had some gems on it as well with Brown Eyed Blues by Adrian Hood, and Greatest Gift again by Tamika Scott.  But my all time favorite is the soundtrack to “Diary of A Mad Black Woman”.  That album introduced me to the young yet powerful voice of Tiffany Evans on Father Can You Hear Me.  It album also included Patti Labelle, Cheryl Pepsii Riley, Tamia, Angie Stone, India Arie and other artists that I listen to on the regular.  Compared to his other soundtracks it was short but the music on that album is timeless.

As I previously stated, this newest addition to the long list of Tyler Perry movie soundtracks does not disappoint but the music is a bit more somber than previous music.  Not that you wouldn’t like it but I suggest listening to it on iTunes first or via CDNow.com.  If you do buy it, let me know what you think?

Other Albums out this Tuesday:

  • Khulami Phase by Lauryn Hill–  Khulami Phase is a collection of unreleased songs, live performances, and rare recordings.  This is an imported CD so the price is slightly higher.
  • B.o.B Presents: The Adventures of Bobby Ray by B.O.B.-  B.o.B Presents: The Adventures of Bobby Ray,’ is a fascinating journey into the Atlanta artist’s far-reaching imagination.  This  rap phenomenon  brings his genre-bending style nationwide.
